CITIZEN CONSUMER CLUB

Citizen Consumer Club of Ethiraj College for Women is an initiative of the College aiming at enhancing awareness among the student community about the rights and responsibilities of consumers. It was inaugurated on 2nd December, 2008 by Shri. K. Rajaraman I.A.S., the Commissioner of Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection Department, Government of Tamil Nadu in the presence of Dr. A.M. Swaminathan, Chairman of Ethiraj College Board of Trustees.

The Club has been functioning successfully since then, under the guidance of the Department of Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection, Government of Tamil Nadu. The club has 1500 active student members.

VISION

The vision of the club is to equip students with the knowledge of consumer rights, to facilitate them to exercise their responsibilities as consumers in the society, to encourage them to stand up against malpractices and to inculcate leadership qualities in them through the diverse activities of the club.

ACTION

Right from its inception, in line with its vision, the club has been conducting several outreach programmes, consumer awareness demonstrations, lectures, workshops, seminars, webinars, consumer fests and competitions at National and State levels.

ACHIEVEMENTS

The Citizen Consumer club of Ethiraj College for Women is considered as one of the best clubs in the south zone. Several student members of the club have participated in various intercollegiate events and won several awards.

The club has been recognized with the following awards:

- ❖ STATE LEVEL AWARD The club was awarded the FIRST PLACE in the year 2013-2014 under the category of "Best Consumer Club (College)" by the Government of Tami Nadu.
- ❖ Best District Club Award, Chennai (South Zone) 2010-2011
- ❖ Best District Club Award, Chennai (South Zone) -2012-2013
- ❖ Best District Club Award, Chennai (South Zone) -2013-2014
- ❖ Best District Club Award, Chennai (South Zone) -2014-2015
- ❖ Best District Club Award, Chennai (South Zone)-2015-2016
- ❖ Best District Club Award, Chennai (South Zone)-2016-2017